Ta strona wykorzystuje mechanizm ciasteczek (cookies) do poprawnego działania. Więcej informacji na stronie Polityka Prywatności. Zamknij.


HANDEL, BACH, Daniel Abraham, The Bach Sinfonia

Alexanders Feast / Alles Mit Gott und nichts ohn ihn

  • Disc 1
  • 1. Overture: Maestoso—Allegro non troppo; Andante (6:00)
  • 2. Recitative: ‘Twas at the royal feast (1:05)
  • 3. Air, Duet & Chorus: Happy, happy, happy pair (4:35)
  • 4. Recitative: Timotheus plac’d on high (0:30)
  • 5. Recitative, accompanied: The song began from Jove (1:00)
  • 6. Chorus: The list’ning croud (2:15)
  • 7. Air: With ravish’d ears (3:21)
  • 8. Chorus, repeated: The list’ning croud (2:15)
  • 9. Recitative: The praise of Bacchus then the sweet musician sung (0:42)
  • 10. Air & Chorus: Bacchus, ever fair and young (4:43)
  • 11. Recitative: Sooth’d with the sound (0:48)
  • 12. Recitative, accompanied: He chose a mournful muse (1:30)
  • 13. Air: He sung Darius great and good (2:42)
  • 14. Recitative, accompanied: With downcast looks the joyless victor sate (0:58)
  • 15. Chorus: Behold Darius great and good (2:28)
  • 16. Recitative: The mighty master smil’d to see (0:34)
  • 17. Recitative, accompanied: Softly sweet in lydian Measures (3:13)
  • 18. Air: War, he sung, is toil and trouble (4:44)
  • 19. Chorus: The many rend the skies (4:03)
  • 20. Air: The Prince, unable to conceal his pain (6:33)
  • 21. Chorus, repeated: The many rend the skies (4:03)
  • Disc 2
  • 1. Recitative, accompanied: Now Strike the golden Lyre again Chorus: Break his bands of sleep asunder (2:45)
  • 2. Air: Revenge, Revenge, Timotheus cries (8:15)
  • 3. Accompanied Recitative: Give the vengeance due to the valiant crew (1:43)
  • 4. Air: The princes applaud with a furious joy (2:07)
  • 5. Air & Chorus: Thais led the way (6:17)
  • 6. Recitative, accompanied: Thus long ago, ere heaving bellows learn’d to blow (2:30)
  • 7. Grand Chorus: At last Devine Cecilia came (2:51)
  • 8. Air-duett: Let old Timotheus yield the prize (0:25)
  • 9. Chorus: Let old Timotheus yield the prize (3:32)
  • 10. Additional Chorus: Your voices tune and raise them high (2:46)
  • Johann Sebastian Bach
  • 11. BWV 1127: Alles mit Gott und nichts ohn’ ihn (10:01)
  • Daniel Abraham - conductor
  • The Bach Sinfonia - orchestra
  • BACH
Add to Basket

79.00 PLN

2 CD:

Nr kat.: DSL20604
Label  : DORIAN (USA)

This recording contains a beautiful mingling of Handel’s lush cantata with a recently rediscovered, unique Bach aria. The Bach Sinfonia and the Handel Choir of Baltimore capture the triumphant splendor of Handel’s setting of John Dryden’s ode to Alexander the Great. Discovered in the spring of 2005 by musicologist Michael Maul, the ensembles had the honor of performing Alles mit Gott und nichts ohn’ ihn for the American Musicological Society. Daniel Abraham and Melinda O’Neal’s ensemble collaboration is one of the first to record and disseminate this exciting newfound work of J.S. Bach Based out of Maryland, The Bach Sinfonia is a non-profit organization dedicated to the exposure and portrayal of eighteenth-century music. Well into its eleventh season, Sinfonia has become known not only for their incredible performance prowess, but also for their emphasis on public education of early music. Striving for the perfect unity of these two ideas, The Bach Sinfonia endeavors to create a different production than the standard classical concert, granting each audience member wonderful entertainment, as well as a uniquely invigorating learning experience.


Razem z tą płytą inni Melomani kupowali: