Ta strona wykorzystuje mechanizm ciasteczek (cookies) do poprawnego działania. Więcej informacji na stronie Polityka Prywatności. Zamknij.


Thelonious Monk Quartet


  • Thelonious Monk Quintet - Monk
  • 01. We See (5:17)
  • 02. Smoke Gets in Your Eyes (4:32)
  • 03. Locomotive (6:24)
  • 04. Hackensack (5:12)
  • 05. Let's Call This (5:08)
  • 06. Think of One (take 2) (5:46)
  • 07. Think of One (take 1) (5:38)
  • Thelonious Monk Quartet
Add to Basket

139.00 PLN

CD (miniLP):

Nr kat.: VICJ41521
Label  : JVC Japan

20bit K2Super Coding - ale jak to brzmi!

Monk Review by Scott Yanow Thelonious Monk's Prestige recordings (reissued on three LP-length CDs) have been somewhat neglected through the years but, with the exception of a date for Vogue, they are the only documentation that exists of the unique pianist-composer's work as a leader during the latter half of 1952 through 1954. This set has four numbers (including Monk's originals "Wee See," "Locomotive" and the catchy "Hackensack") featuring Monk with trumpeter Ray Copeland (an underrated player), tenor saxophonist Frank Foster, bassist Curly Russell and drummer Art Blakey. However it is "Let's Call This" and the two versions of "Think of One" that are best-known, for Monk teams up with the French horn wizard Julius Watkins, bassist Percy Heath, drummer Willie Jones and the great tenor Sonny Rollins. Every Thelonious Monk recording is well worth getting although this one is not quite essential.