Ta strona wykorzystuje mechanizm ciasteczek (cookies) do poprawnego działania. Więcej informacji na stronie Polityka Prywatności. Zamknij.


Richie Cole

West Side Story

  • 1. Something's Coming
  • 2. America
  • 3. Maria
  • 4. I Feel Pretty
  • 5. Cool & Jet Song
  • 6. Tonight
  • 7. Somewhere
  • 8. West Side Blues
  • Richie Cole - saxophone

Produkt w tej chwili niedostępny.

Nagranie EKSTREMALNIE audiofilskie

Tribute To Leonard Bernstein on SACD! Richie started playing alto saxophone when he was 10 years old in his home town of Trenton, New Jersey. Influenced by Sonny Rollins and Charlie Parker, Cole?s talent and dedication won him a full scholarship from Downbeat Magazine to the Berklee School of Music in Boston. His professional career began in 1969 when he joined the Buddy Rich Big Band. And after stints with the Lionel Hampton Big Band and the Doc Severinsen Big Band, Cole formed his own quintet and toured worldwide, doing a great deal to popularize bebop and his own "Alto Madness" style in the '70s and early '80s. Cole has performed and recorded with the great vocalese artist Eddie Jefferson, the Manhattan Transfer, Bobby Enriquez, Freddie Hubbard, Sonny Stitt, Art Pepper, Tom Waits, Boots Randolph, and Nancy Wilson, to name just a few of his musical collaborations. Notably, Cole has performed at the Village Vanguard and Carnegie Hall as well as given a command performance for the Queen of England. Richie Cole has recorded over 50 albums and CDs, including his top hit album Hollywood Madness (1979), and his tribute album to Leonard Bernstein, Richie Cole Plays West Side Story. "On this enjoyable CD, bebop altoist Richie Cole performs seven of the main themes from West Side Story, plus his own complex 'West Side Blues.' Cole teams up with his longtime guitarist Vic Juris, pianist Lou Forestieri, bassist Ed Howard, drummer Tommy Campbell and veteran percussionist Ray Mantilla to give the familiar melodies his 'alto madness' treatment, being respectful of the themes while stretching out. Highlights include 'America,' 'Maria' and 'Tonight.'" - Scott Yanow, allmusic.com "This is a winner, not only for Cole's bubbly bebop alto saxophone but also for the imaginative sextet arrangements and the revival of Leonard Bernstein's score that includes 'Something?s Coming, ' 'Maria,' 'I Feel Pretty,' 'Tonight' and others. Ray Mantilla's percussion adds the necessary Latin flavor to the performances. The predominant melody sound is Cole's alto in unison with Vic Juris' guitar an octave lower. But sometimes there is three-part counterpoint among Cole, Juris and pianist Lou Forestieri. Bassist Ed Howard and drummer Tommy Campbell complete this excellent, larger-than-life combo. Percussion introduces 'America,' whereas 'Something?s Coming' emerges from contrapuntal lines. Cole treats the ballads 'Maria' and 'Somewhere,' strong melodic tunes, to worthy improvisation-passionate but not overdone. For the finale, the group plays 'West Side Blues,' a Cole original that incorporates snippets of Bernstein's melodies into its own groove. Hear, hear." - Owen Cordle, JazzTimes
>>>Hyper Magnum Sound - to wyjątkowo subtelny proces 24 bitowego masteringu, w wyniku którego dźwięk uzyskuje bardzo głęboki, miękki i soczysty wymiar. Nagrania w tej technologii zachwycają urodą i klimatem jazzowej ballady, improwizacji, a także vocalem. Nikt nie potrafi tak ożywić brzmienia instrumentów jak Venus Records.

>> Płyty SACD Single Layer - do odtworzenia wyłącznie w czytnikach SACD. Wydanie o szczególnych walorach audiofilskich. Pełny obraz zapisu analogowego. Technologia Super Magnum Sound - znakomicie rewitalizuje dźwięk oryginalny, zdejmując zeń wszelkie naleciałości czasu i technologii magnetofonowej.<<<


Razem z tą płytą inni Melomani kupowali: