Ta strona wykorzystuje mechanizm ciasteczek (cookies) do poprawnego działania. Więcej informacji na stronie Polityka Prywatności. Zamknij.


Patricia Barber

modern cool

  • 1. Touch of Trash
  • 2. Winter
  • 3. You & The Night & The Music
  • 4. Constantinople
  • 5. Light My Fire
  • 6. Silent Partner
  • 7. Company
  • 8. Let It Rain
  • 9. She's A Lady
  • 10. Love,put on your faces
  • 11. Postmodern Blues
  • 12. Let It Rain - Vamp
  • Patricia Barber - vocal and piano
Add to Basket

369.00 PLN

2 LP-180G 33rpm:

Nr kat.: PREM90761
Label  : Premonition Records

Najnowsza edycja - w oparciu o nowy remastering wykonany specjalnie dla tego tłoczenia!

Patricia Barber w naszej ofercie Downbeat (9/98, p.49) 5 Stars (out of 5) - "...MODERN COOL has everything that made CAFE BLUE special: original songs...outside-the-box choices for covers from the popular repertoire; spare, sleek, telling arrangements by Barber's working quintet....one of the best recordings made of a jazz singer with small acoustic ensemble..." Entertainment Weekly (10/16/98, p.89) - "...Barber mixes Cassandra Wilson's spare stylings and k.d. Lang's suave gender play with smart originals and surprising arrangments..." - Rating: A- The dark, smoky voice of Patricia Barber is quite haunting. On this release, she mostly sings downbeat songs at slow tempos. All but three songs are her own originals, and they deal with such subject matter as a "homage to beauty" that seems to connect painting one's face with prostitution, loneliness, mindless conformity, the "postmodern blues" and other depressing topics. Even her treatments of "You and the Night and the Music" and "Light My Fire" make one think that she is utterly bored with life. Barber, whose piano playing is mostly very much in the background, comes across on this set as a pop/folk singer. Most of the jazz moments are provided by trumpeter Dave Douglas, who is on half of the selections and adds some much-needed excitement; guitarist John McLean, bassist Michael Amopol and drummer/percussionist Mark Walker complete the group. This set is definitely for specialized tastes. — Scott Yanow Chicago pianist and vocalist Patricia Barber is making lots of ears burn. Her torch song touch speaks volumes to jazz vocal fanatics, but she has an adventuresome side that speaks likewise to fans of woollier jazz. Barber's vocal delivery is swaggering and burnished, always angling against oddball time signatures and often dropping weird lyrical science. From e.e. cummings poems, Barber moves into prescient observations on our society: "For company in the 21st century," she sings, "I go to the club, talk through the show / I'm so hip there's nothing about jazz / That I don't know." Trumpeter Dave Douglas and guitarist John McLean add a sharp edge, and the Choral Thunder Vocal Choir give Modern Cool soul-drenched dynamics that push the CD into the realm of instant classics. (--Andrew Bartlett, Amazon) >>> Płyty winylowe należy przechowywać WYŁĄCZNIE w NAJLEPSZYCH NA ŚWIECIE koszulkach produkcji legendarnej wytwórni MOBILE FIDELITY. 100% gwarancji na pozbycie się trzasków będących w istocie w 90% efektem ładunków elektrostatycznych a nie uszkodzeń mechanicznych płyty! <<<

>>> Ten zestaw to podstawa każdego toru winylowego! <<<


Razem z tą płytą inni Melomani kupowali: