Ta strona wykorzystuje mechanizm ciasteczek (cookies) do poprawnego działania. Więcej informacji na stronie Polityka Prywatności. Zamknij.


Lisle Ellis, Lawrence Ochs, Donald Robinson

What We Live

  • Ellie=Ochs=Robinson - What We Live
  • 01. Into the Mauve (It's like that) (6:24)
  • 02. The Deke (8:35)
  • 03. A Case of the Once It Was You (9:56)
  • 04. Everlasting (7:39)
  • 05. Metropolitans (10:18)
  • 06. The Deep Blue Goodbye (11:02)
  • 07. Little Mysteries (5:24)
  • 08. The Way Back (8:00)
  • Lisle Ellis, Lawrence Ochs, Donald Robinson
Add to Basket

109.00 PLN

CD (miniLP):

Nr kat.: DIW909
Label  : DIW - Japonia

A furiously alive trio - actually called What We Live - playing cooperatively created compositions/improvisations. Bassist Lisle Ellis has gained notoriety for playing with the Canadian saxophonist Paul Plimley. Larry Ochs is a founder of the Rova Saxophone Quartet and one of the outstanding but highly underrated saxophonists on the scene today. This wild and exciting jazz album was WWL's debut, originally released in 1996. On six of the seven tracks, bassist Lisle Ellis’ trio (with Larry Ochs from ROVA and drummer Donald Robinson) is joined by an additional musician making for an interesting round robin affair. The music has a generally relaxed feel, even at its freest, indicating the strong degree of communication between the players. Several of the tracks veer more toward free jazz as opposed to free improv, including those featuring the fine percussionist William Winant (here on vibes) and pianist Paul Plimley, a frequent collaborator of Ellis. Violinist India Cooke works up a mighty head of steam on Yo(u), prodding Ochs some of his strongest playing on the date. Ellis appears to be at home in any number of genres and maintains a propulsive drive throughout, summoning echoes of Mingus and providing a stable center for the session. The album ends with a bouncy burner, Ochs and guest Ben Goldberg intertwined like twins reunited. A good, solid effort. ~ Brian Olewnick, All Music Guide


Razem z tą płytą inni Melomani kupowali: