Ta strona wykorzystuje mechanizm ciasteczek (cookies) do poprawnego działania. Więcej informacji na stronie Polityka Prywatności. Zamknij.


Gerry Mulligan, Ben Webster

Gerry Mulligan Meets Ben Webster

  • 1. Chelsea Bridge
  • 2. The Cat Walk
  • 3. Sunday
  • 4. Who's Got Rhythm
  • 5. Tell Me When
  • 6. Go Home
  • Gerry Mulligan - saxophone
  • Ben Webster - tenor saxophone
Add to Basket

199.00 PLN

LP HQ-200g:

Nr kat.: AVRJ6104
Label  : Acoustic Sounds

Although baritone saxophonist Gerry Mulligan was briefly typecast as an "heretical modernist" by jazz purists (his piano-less quartet with Chet Baker in 1952 was considered radical), he was really just extending the tradition of swing-era sax giants like Lester Young and his idol, Ben Webster. This laid back, intergenerational summit, recorded in late 1959, grew out of informal Sunday jam sessions Mulligan and Webster had been having at Mulligan's house in L.A. The vibe here is definitely "cool," West Coast-style, with each track soaked in quiet, luminous intensity. Along with the uncluttered accompaniment of pianist Jimmy Rowles, bassist Leroy Vinnegar and drummer Mel Lewis, the saxophonists add breathy life to chestnuts like "Chelsea Bridge" and "What Is This Thing Called Love," while Mulligan originals like "The Cat Walk" show off Webster's sly bluesiness. The two-CD set contains all of the original masters, plus six full-length alternate takes and nine extra tracks of breakdowns, rehearsals and studio discussions, providing listeners with an intimate peak into the creative process of these two renowned geniuses.


Razem z tą płytą inni Melomani kupowali: