Ta strona wykorzystuje mechanizm ciasteczek (cookies) do poprawnego działania. Więcej informacji na stronie Polityka Prywatności. Zamknij.


Duke Ellington and His Orchestra

Duke Ellington presents...

  • Duke Ellington - Duke Ellington presents...
  • 01. Summertime (2:15)
  • 02. Laura (4:14)
  • 03. I Can't Get Started (4:26)
  • 04. My Funny Valentine (4:48)
  • 05. Everything But You (3:00)
  • 06. Frustration (3:51)
  • 07. Cotton Tail (2:54)
  • 08. Day Dream (3:40)
  • 09. Deep Purple (3:37)
  • 10. Indian Summer (3:03)
  • 11. Blues (7:03)
  • Duke Ellington and His Orchestra - orchestra
Add to Basket

139.00 PLN


Nr kat.: VICJ61485
Label  : JVC Japan


>>> THIS IS K2 HD SOUND - 100 kHz and 24-BIT RESOLUTION! In the early '50s, one of the great American composers (also performer and bandleader), Duke Ellington, was in a slump, creatively and commercially. ... Full DescriptionThe few big bands left where having a hard time of it then, and the Duke's association with Capitol Records at the time produced few masterpieces. On top of all that, Ellington's star sax man Johnny Hodges had left for a solo career. In the mid-'50s, Hodges returned, and Duke and company hooked up with the short-lived Bethlehem label. The program here has only four originals (five, if you count the jam-thing that is "Blues") and the rest are standards. Perhaps the Duke wanted to ease Hodges back into things--regardless, this is a fine album. The orchestrations are sumptuously rich and classy, there's some terrific solos (Harry Carney's baritone sax on "Frustration"), and some mellow, Nat "King" Cole-style vocals from trumpeter/violinist Ray Nance. This session sounds like the band is gearing up to the good times just around the corner--the late '50s would see the Duke sign on with Columbia Records and reign triumphant at the Newport Jazz Festival.


Razem z tą płytą inni Melomani kupowali: