Ta strona wykorzystuje mechanizm ciasteczek (cookies) do poprawnego działania. Więcej informacji na stronie Polityka Prywatności. Zamknij.


DAVID, Hagai Shaham, BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, Martyn Brabbins

The Romantic Violin Concerto, Vol. 9 - Violin Concerto No 4 & 5 / Andante and Scherzo capriccioso

  • Violin Concerto No 4 in E major, Op 23
  • 1 Movement 1: Allegro [11'55]
  • 2 Movement 2: Adagio cantabile, non troppo lento [6'43]
  • 3 Movement 3: Allegretto grazioso [7'28]
  • Violin Concerto No 5 in D minor, Op 35
  • 4 Movement 1: Allegro serioso [10'56]
  • 5 Movement 2: Adagio [5'01]
  • 6 Movement 3: Vivace [7'50]
  • 7 Andante and Scherzo capriccioso, Op 16 [9'20]
  • Hagai Shaham - violin
  • BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra - orchestra
  • Martyn Brabbins - conductor
Add to Basket

59.00 PLN


Nr kat.: CDA67804
Label  : Hyperion

Ferdinand David is principally known today as the dedicatee of Mendelssohn’s violin concerto; he gave the premiere of the work in 1845. But in his time he was also celebrated as a composer, and Hyperion is delighted to present this disc of world premiere recordings as Volume 9 in the Romantic Violin Concerto series. David was a prolific composer and his output included two symphonies, five violin concertos, a string sextet, quartets, several sets of variations and volumes of studies for violin, choral works and some Lieder. His works had considerable success in his lifetime, and their revival reveals highly attractive music of phenomenal accomplishment. Bearing in mind David’s close affinity with Mendelssohn it is hardly surprising that some of his music has a fairly Mendelssohnian character. This extends to the skilful handling of Classical forms with a rather more Romantic palette, but there is also an amiable individual character at work which produces music rich in wit and sentiment. Hagai Shaham, a regular of this series and a master of the 19th-century virtuoso idiom, performs these works with his usual panache, ably accompanied by the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra and Martyn Brabbins. ----------------------------------------------- 'David's slow movements are especially appealing … but you can turn almost anywhere here to find unreserved melodic delight … Hagai Shaham's playing is sweetness itself, and he's secure in every technical detail … Under Martyn Brabbins' alert direction, the BBC Scottish players impart a refreshing clarity to David's Mendelssohnian orchestral writing, their attentiveness supported in Andrew Keener's transparent recording … In short, this disc offers an hour of unremitting pleasure which you would be daft to deny yourself' (International Record Review) 'Shaham and the BBC Scottish Symphony (at their most sparkling and sensitive under Martyn Brabbins) play with supreme virtuoso ease throughout … Played like this, these concertos constantly delight with their deft invention. Exemplary sound too' (Classic FM Magazine) 'Sweet melody coupled with passages of virtuosic fire, underpinned with graceful, discreet orchestral writing' (The Observer) 'Hagai Shaham delivers a fastidious and vivacious sympathy to the flow of figures, a real acolyte of an otherwise marginal repertory' (American Record Guide, USA) 'Hagai Shaham pulls off that great virtuoso trick of making the music sound complex, but also making clear that he has every note under his fingers and that he is not sweating it. To non-violinist listeners, the greatest attraction of this music is its lyricism, and Shaham always brings this to the fore, especially in the exquisitely crafted middle movements … Excellent playing from the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, who again demonstrate that they are a force to be reckoned with' (MusicWeb.com)


Razem z tą płytą inni Melomani kupowali: