Ta strona wykorzystuje mechanizm ciasteczek (cookies) do poprawnego działania. Więcej informacji na stronie Polityka Prywatności. Zamknij.


Bill Evans, Freddie Hubbard, Jim Hall, Percy Heath, Philly Joe Jones


  • Bill Evans - Interplay Sessions
  • 01. You and the Night and the Music (7:06)
  • 02. When You Wish upon a Star (5:46)
  • 03. I'll Never Smile Again (Take 7) (6:34)
  • 04. Interplay (8:15)
  • 05. You Go to My Head (5:05)
  • 06. Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams (6:26)
  • 07. I'll Never Smile Again (Take 6) (6:38)
  • Bill Evans - piano
  • Freddie Hubbard - trumpet
  • Jim Hall - guitar
  • Percy Heath - bass
  • Philly Joe Jones - drums
Add to Basket

139.00 PLN

CD (miniLP):

Nr kat.: VICJ41518
Label  : JVC Japan

INTERPLAY is not your typical Bill Evans record. Usually, the pianist preferred to record in a trio setting, exploring the quiet intimacy that it allowed. This is a rare quintet session featuring a line up of all-stars from the hard-bop era that emphasized faster tempos and a more robust approach. With Freddie Hubbard (trumpet), Jim Hall (guitar), Percy Heath (bass) and the fiery Philly Joe Jones (drums), Evans shows a brighter, more spirited execution in his playing than usual. On the jumping opener "You And The Night And The Music" Evans is in exceptional form as he nimbly executes very bop-ish right hand lines that weave and swirl through the changes. Hubbard, Hall and Evans all take stunning solo turns on the energized "I'll Never Smile Again," which appears here in two versions. That classic Evans touch is fully realized, though, with a beautiful arrangement of "When You Wish Upon A Star" and the bluesy title track. The Evans/Heath/Jones rhythm section drives hard through the swinging "You Go To My Head," followed by the delightful romp of "Wrap You Troubles In Dreams" to tie the knot on a stellar session.


Razem z tą płytą inni Melomani kupowali: