Ta strona wykorzystuje mechanizm ciasteczek (cookies) do poprawnego działania. Więcej informacji na stronie Polityka Prywatności. Zamknij.


Kirk Whalum


  • Kirk Whalum - Roundtrip
  • 01. Courtney (4:42)
  • 02. Desperately (4:35)
  • 03. Ruby Ruby Ruby (4:55)
  • 04. Glow (6:51)
  • 05. The Wave (4:52)
  • 06. Big Ol' Shoes (4:27)
  • 07. Inside (4:43)
  • 08. In A Whisper (4:48)
  • 09. Roundtrip (3:49)
  • 10. Back In The Day (6:13)
  • 11. Afterthought (6:43)
  • Kirk Whalum - saxophone
Add to Basket

64.00 PLN


Nr kat.: REN51322
Label  : Rendezvous

It's been 23 years since the world at large got its first taste of saxophone master Kirk Whalum. It all began when the legendary Bob James proudly introduced Whalum on his famed album, 12 (1984). Over the course of three decades and 17 albums that encompass a singular blend of jazz, gospel, pop and rhythm and blues, the Memphis-born horn man has garnered 7 GRAMMY® nominations. He has attained numerous #1-charting projects and the gospel world’s esteemed 2006 Stellar Award for the second volume in his ongoing series The Gospel According to Jazz. He has also contributed unforgettable solos to works by a sprawling list of artists, most notably “Anyone Who Had a Heart” by the late, great Luther Vandross, and the Bodyguard soundtrack anthem “I Will Always Love You” by Whitney Houston (with whom he was also featured on a world tour). Now, at the opportune juncture of 2007 - after moving from Memphis to Houston to Pasadena to Paris to Nashville and back to Memphis again – Whalum is taking a unique look back through the serendipitous contours of his career. Thus, the title of his new CD, Roundtrip. The album is a progressive retrospective, looking at the past with an eye toward the future. Roundtrip includes re-imaginings of some of his biggest radio hits (including the first single, a modern reworking of “The Wave”), new and/or previously unrecorded compositions that chart the evolution of his heart-warming style (including “Big Ol’ Shoes,” a tribute to one of his heroes, Grover Washington Jr.), and a pair of especially fresh pieces that meld Contemporary Jazz with spoken word (“In a Whisper,” featuring actress/poetess Kim Fields) and hip hop (“Back in the Day,” with music based on the intro of Gerald Albright’s “We Got the Groove” and humorous lyrics penned and performed by Kirk’s young cousin who goes by the name of Caleb Tha Bridge). To help him bring this concept to life, Kirk called in three producers, all distinguished musicians with albums of their own: Philippe Saisse, the Parisian keyboardist extraordinaire who produced Kirk’s Cache’ and Colors CD’s, as well as albums by Gato Barbieri, David Sanborn and the new RnR collaboration between Rick Braun and Richard Elliott. Rex Rideout, who produced Kirk’s recent #1 smash “Give Me the Reason” from the tribute CD Forever, For Always, For Luther Volume II. Rideout’s credits also include Luther Vandross, The Temptations and Boney James. James McMillan, producer for American Idol’s Kelly Clarkson, Tamyra Gray and Ruben Studdard), whom Kirk first met when both were touring with the duo Everything But The Girl. Roundtrip also features special guest vocalist Shanice, guitarists Earl Klugh and Jeff Golub, and saxophonist Gerald Albright.