Ta strona wykorzystuje mechanizm ciasteczek (cookies) do poprawnego działania. Więcej informacji na stronie Polityka Prywatności. Zamknij.


HANDEL, Sir Neville Marriner, Academy of St. Marin in the Fields

Coronation Anthems

  • Bible - Old Testament, lyricist(s)
  • Zadok the Priest, HWV 258
  • 1. Zadok the Priest, HWV 258 - 05:33
  • The King shall rejoice, HWV 260
  • 2. The King shall rejoice - 02:40
  • 3. Exceeding glad shall he be - 02:36
  • 4. Glory and worship - 03:20
  • 5. Alleluia - 02:46
  • Let thy Hand be stengthened, HWV 259
  • 6. Let thy Hand be stengthened - 03:26
  • 7. Let justice and judgement - 03:38
  • 8. Alleluia - 01:38
  • My Heart is inditing, HWV 261
  • 9. My Heart is inditing - 02:33
  • 10. Kings' daughters - 03:02
  • 11. Upon thy right hand - 02:36
  • 12. Kings shall be thy nursing fathers - 02:29
  • Handel, George Frideric
  • Morell, Thomas, lyricist(s)
  • Judas Maccabaeus, HWV 63 (excerpts)
  • 13. Part III: See, the conqu'ring hero comes! - 02:12
  • 14. Part III: March - 01:28
  • 15. Part III: Sing unto God - 02:56
  • Łączny czas: 00:42:53
  • Sir Neville Marriner - conductor
  • Academy of St. Marin in the Fields - orchestra
Add to Basket

44.00 PLN


Nr kat.: 8802016
Label  : Newton Classics

Music has always played a pivotal role in the coronation of British monarchs. The 20th century saw major works composed for the occasion by Parry for Edward VII in 1902, Elgar for George V in 1911, Walton for George VI in 1937, and most recently Walton for Elizabeth II in 1953. Handel was commissioned to supply four new works to be performed with music by Purcell, Tallis, Blow and Gibbons for George II’s coronation in 1727. Of these works, one still forms part of the modern ceremony. Zadok the Priest, the shortest of the anthems, still has the power to surprise and thrill the listener, and must have had an electrifying effect upon those gathered in Westminster Abbey on 11 October 1727. Recording made in 1984. Booklet note and sung texts. ‘This is a most elegant version of these stirring works. The chorus, clear-set against the orchestra, moves with the same precision as the players, and Marriner’s control of the rhythmic groupings is a delight.’ Gramophone, November 1985 "Newton is a new label devoted to reissues of old recordings from such labels as Decca-London and Philips. This recording, made in 1984, was issued as on the Philips label (412733) simultaneously as an LP, a CD, and a cassette. A CD reissue a decade later (Philips 456 523) did not last long. Now it is given another chance. Marriner certainly had the measure of this music. Using a mixed voice concert choir with four soloists and a modern-instrument ensemble, he produced perfectly calculated and molded performances. Beautiful performances… As in the original release, three festive numbers from Judas Maccabeus are added." (John W Barker - American Record Guide, March 2011)