Ta strona wykorzystuje mechanizm ciasteczek (cookies) do poprawnego działania. Więcej informacji na stronie Polityka Prywatności. Zamknij.


SCHUMANN, Steven Isserlis

Music for cello and piano

  • Soiréestücke 'Fantasiestücke', Op 73
  • 1 No 1: Zart und mit Ausdruck [4'09] >>> Posłuchaj fragmentu <<<
  • 2 No 2: Lebhaft, leicht [3'09] >>> Posłuchaj fragmentu <<<
  • 3 No 3: Rasch und mit Feuer [4'06] >>> Posłuchaj fragmentu <<<
  • Adagio and Allegro, Op 70
  • 4 Movement 1: Adagio [4'17]
  • 5 Movement 2: Allegro [4'36]
  • Violin Sonata No 3 in A minor, WoO27 arr. Steven Isserlis (b1959)
  • 6 Movement 1: Ziemlich langsam ? [Lebhaft] [7'05]
  • 7 Movement 2: Scherzo. Lebhaft [3'12]
  • 8 Movement 3: Intermezzo. Bewegt, doch nicht zu schnell [3'21]
  • 9 Movement 4: Finale. Markiertes, ziemlich lebhaftes Tempo [6'20]
  • Zwölf Vierhändige Clavierstücke für kleine und grosse Kinder, Op 85 arr. Joseph Joachim (1831-1907)
  • 10 No 12: Abendlied [3'04]
  • Drei Romanzen, Op 94
  • 11 No 1: Nicht schnell [3'10]
  • 12 No 2: Einfach, innig ? Etwas lebhafter [3'50]
  • 13 No 3: Nicht schnell [4'04]
  • Fünf Stücke im Volkston, Op 102
  • 14 No 1: Mit Humor 'Vanitas vanitatum' [2'48]
  • 15 No 2: Langsam [3'37]
  • 16 No 3: Nicht schnell, mit viel Ton zu spielen [4'08]
  • 17 No 4: Nicht zu rasch [1'47]
  • 18 No 5: Stark und markiert [3'03]
  • Steven Isserlis - cello
Add to Basket

49.00 PLN


Nr kat.: CDA67661
Label  : Hyperion

?There is no composer to whom I feel closer than to Schumann. He has been a beloved friend since I was a child; I remain as fascinated today as I was then by his unique blend of poetry, ecstatic strength and confessional intimacy.? Steven Isserlis?s own words give the background to this fascinating disc. Schumann?s affection for the cello ran deep. It was an instrument he had played in his youth, and considered taking up again when, at the age of twenty-two, an accident to his hand forced him to relinquish his dream of being a virtuoso pianist. ?I want to take up the violoncello again (one needs only the left hand for this) and it will be very useful to me in composing symphonies?, he wrote to his mother. The sound of the cello played without the right hand would have been somewhat minimalist; but his love for the instrument is clearly demonstrated by the cello parts in all four of his symphonies, as well as in the concertos for piano and violin, and of course throughout his chamber music. As the great musicologist Donald Francis Tovey put it: ?The qualities of the violoncello are exactly those of the beloved dreamer whom we know as Schumann.? ------------------------------------ GRAMOPHONE EDITOR'S CHOICE BBC MUSIC MAGAZINE INSTRUMENTAL CHOICE 'Could this be his best recording yet? ? [Fantasiestucke] The music has a wonderfully considered and luxuriant aspect; the results never sound contrived. That's partly to do with Isserlis's sound, which has a very focused centre to it, but also his utterly intimate relationship with pianist Dénes Várjon. Perhaps the most ravishing item on the disc is the poignant Abendlied ? In his hands it's as moving a wordless Lied as anything you could imagine ? For all that Isserlis has made many wonderful recordings, not least his seminal Bach suites, I think this might just be his finest yet' (Gramophone) 'Enhanced by glowingly intimate sound from Andrew Keener and Simon Eadon, Isserlis constantly draws us in with playing of gentle radiance and exquisite nuancing ? [Violin Sonata] It sets the seal on one of Isserlis's finest discs' (International Record Review) '[Violin Sonata] This fabulously virtuosic and psychologically complex work forces Isserlis's musicianship up to a new level ? Isserlis masters its explosive flourishes and has the vital impetus to manke an eccentric work feel whole' (BBC Music Magazine) 'A disc that all Schumann lovers will want to own' (CD Review, BBC Radio 3) 'This music sings and soars, flying to the instrument's highest reaches with dreamy eloquence and a sense of rightness ? He plays with fierceness and soul' (The Observer) 'The whole programme is a delight, as both artists catch the music's poetic ebb and flow to perfection' (Sunday Times)